The Ups and Downs of Starting an Internet Business and Sometimes Wondering Why the Heck I Started This in the First Place

Adena Sternthal
2 min readOct 12, 2020

--

I’m about 3 months into opening Comeback and it’s not at all what I thought it was going to be. Let’s be real for a second. You have, what you think is, an amazing idea. Something that people will be interested in and gravitate too. It’s user friendly, environmentally helpful and fun. Here’s the real part… things that you think and feel about something, be it a business or something else, other people don’t necessarily feel the same way. At least not yet.

Don’t get me wrong… I know that businesses don’t just magically take off overnight. A good business needs to be worked on daily. It needs to be thought about and tweaked all.the.time! But, there are obstacles. While I do have a small following on social media, my skills there are fair. I’m learning and taking advice from professionals anywhere I can get it. Money — I don’t have unlimited funds to go out and find people to do the work that needs to be done for me, so I’m a one woman show over here. I also have a fear of being in front of a camera, specifically video cameras, and I know that today, that’s a HUGE piece of good business marketing. Nope, videos are not my thing and to be perfectly honest, freak me out if I have to speak on one. Yeah, yeah, yeah, I know… get over it and just do it. It’s a work in progress. In fact, I just did my first ever Instagram Live the other day. Overall, it went pretty well. Entrepreneurship is challenging. It’s a hustle. It’s stressful, and it’ll knock you down… if you don’t get yourself back up and get your head into the game. So, the night’s I’m up in the middle of the night and Comeback is the first thing I think about, it’s because I want it to work that much.

On the flip side, there are good days. Someone signs up on the website. Another person lists an item or two to be sold. A social media post gets a comment or message. And, do I dare say it… sometimes an item gets sold. Yes, these things have all happened. No, not everyday. Maybe not every week. But, I’m gonna keep on keepin’ on, and continue plugging away at this new business thing. Good things are ahead and I’m going after every single one of them.

Adena Sternthal, Founder of Comeback

--

--

Adena Sternthal

Adena is the owner and creator of Comeback, a marketplace to buy and sell preloved and new camp, college and sports team gear. www.ShopComeback.com